Mr. Loud: Teaching method, “Last time I suffer, now it’s your turn to suffer”

[Originally posted September 23, 2009]

How she learn is how she teach.

Usually people are like that, unless they have proper teacher training. They don’t read any books on teaching. “Last time I learned, I suffer. Now your turn to suffer!”  That’s how they teach! It’s true!  Some teachers even tell you, “Now YOU understand! Now you know how much I suffer when I was taught this one!”  They are very proud of it, their suffering.

Nobody tells you, whether you are a teacher or a student, that this is incorrect.  Therefore everyone just accept it. That is how the majority of teaching is like in Sabah, and nobody is going to change that.

Music teachers judge themselves by so-called “experience”, which they measure in YEARS.

I had a teacher from Singapore who wanted a job, who had been teaching for ten years. She insisted I pay her more, because of her “experience”.   Eventually we found, when we look at her teaching method, she cannot even beat my trainee! And eventually SHE understood that;  how she learned is how she teach! For ten years; repeat, repeat the same method.

So actually the ten years is the NUMBER of years she has been teaching, but in my opinion, she has only ONE DAY of experience, because from the first day to the last day she does the same thing.  She doesn’t learn, and therefore she doesn’t grow.

 

Mr. Loud is a pseudonym for a music educator in Kota Kinabalu. He has strong opinions which I enjoyed listening to, and I got as many interviews as I could before it wasn’t convenient for him to meet anymore. He is Chinese educated, from Sabah, and I only edit for clarity. I don’t want to correct grammar. It’s his voice, so you can read it the way he tells it. His views do not represent Sabah Songs.

Leave a Reply

