Mr. Loud: Review Yourself

[Originally posted September 3, 2009]

In my school I review things with my staff regularly. I check: Did I do or say anything wrong? I have to admit, announce, this was a wrong decision, this was a stupid conversation, to become more mature. You have to show a good example by your behaviour. You must have the guts to realise your mistake, and how fast can you correct that mistake? This is how I run my school.

I read a lot of books, and I review myself a lot. If I had someone to criticise me, I would give them a present! Because usually, someone in my position is not fortunate enough to have someone to review me.  No-one will come and correct you. People want to wait and see, wait for you to make a mistake.  When you make a mistake, nobody will forgive you, because you are always the one commenting on what other people do.

When I was young, I was like a truck. Run down everybody! When I think I am right, I don’t care that I might harm people, I might talk very sharp. When I think back, I find that I am wrong, and I need to learn to be more approachable.  I need to change. Even if I believe my ideas are right, if my style is unacceptable, then I have failed, because I did not pass on my message effectively, never mind whether they agree or not.

 

Mr. Loud is a pseudonym for a music educator in Kota Kinabalu. He has strong opinions which I enjoyed listening to, and I got as many interviews as I could before it wasn’t convenient for him to meet anymore. He is Chinese educated, from Sabah, and I only edit for clarity. I don’t want to correct grammar. It’s his voice, so you can read it the way he tells it. His views do not represent Sabah Songs.

Leave a Reply

