My son is not that smart, maybe he can train to be a music teacher?

I told the head administrator of a music school about the mother in KL who told her son he will end up being a musician if he doesn’t study.

“Can you believe that?”  I said.

The administrator laughed and said:  “Oh yes. That is so so common here.  The things I have heard, you won’t believe it. There are two very common things the parents come and tell me:

1)   “My son is not that smart.  I think he won’t do well in those difficult subjects. I think maybe you can train him to become a music teacher.”

2)   “I’m quite angry. I bring my child to you and now there’s big problem.  He likes his music too much, practise practise all the time. Now, he is not doing his real subjects.”

3 responses to “My son is not that smart, maybe he can train to be a music teacher?

  1. How ironic! You need a certain brilliance to excel well in Music. Well that is how far we as a people are from the realities of life!

  2. Try analysing one of Beethoven’s piano sonatas, or work on a 4 – part voice leading questions from any harmony and voice leading text books.(I’m sure you would rather pick algebra)

    Wonder why there are still “Occupation Discrimination” in our 21th Century so called “Cultured” society? This however denotes that how our society took music for granted; indeed music (in general) “came” in “free” notably through our tv and radio channels, but much works and efforts are done by musicians, composers and producers to bring good music to the society.

    This phenomena can be improved…..with proper music education and music appreciation programs, who can we count on? Musicians and Music educators.

  3. quote “I’m quite angry. I bring my child to you and now there’s big problem. He likes his music too much, practise practise all the time. Now, he is not doing his real subjects.” unquote

    don’t be angry, as your child (and like any other child while at school who possess the ‘kiasu’ attitude) would never allow his/her position to be eroded compared to the other students in his academic terms. Music today is no longer of yesteryears as the saying ‘you will not go hungry neither will you live in a luxurious life, just so so only’. In the higher institution, music faculty have its place and student numbers are increasing year by year.
    if your child have that passion, support him/her all the way during the preparation stage, till the performance day. this encouragement will be appreciated by your child deep in his/her heart. Because of my parents’ support for music, I also gave them back my academic excellence.

    It is just my personal opinion in support of our son’s passion for music since secondary school, until he run his own music one stop centre.

    dondangsayang 3september2009

Leave a Reply

